Christmas Fair Product Design & Development

The following is a project I had to complete for my Enterprise and Employability module last semester. The task was to design and create a product fit for selling at our annual on-campus Christmas Fair.

IMG_6167

Pinterest Research

IMG_6166

Inspiration from Pinterest

IMG_6165

Texture Ideas

These are examples of my sketchbook pages, my main inspiration came from Pinterest and the idea to use porcelain clay in combination a texture was just an initial idea I had, as during the time of the project I was already experimenting with porcelain.

trees

Detailed shots of pieces before firing

xmas trees

At the Fair

Overall, the pieces I made took less than 2 hours, not including time waiting for clay to dry, firing etc.

The pricing for the pieces was £6 each in combination with a 3 for £12 offer.

I believe they were as popular as I expected them to be, with comments such as “They look like sugar cookies” by more than one person. I think the product being stark white with a contrasting black design made them more visually appealing and eye-catching with our dark blue table cloth. Although, the process of making them could have gone a little better, I believe I should have made double the amount in order to avoid having to sell products with tiny issues, such as a lopsided branch or a hairline crack which developed in the kiln. But that aside, I was happy with how a majority turned out, over half were sold.

Leave a Reply

